Scotland elections stand after canvass

Staff report

LAURINBURG — Last week’s canvass of the Nov. 3 municipal elections brought official changes to the voting totals, but none sufficient to change any elections’ final outcomes.

The Scotland County Board of Elections approved 28 provisional ballots, which brought the total number of votes for Laurinburg mayor-elect Matthew Block to 1,459 from 1,446.

With 60 percent of the vote, Block defeated incumbent mayor Tommy Parker, who received 989 votes.

The only other contested race in this year’s election was for a District 1 seat on the Laurinburg City Council, which saw incumbent Curtis Leak returned for another term. Leak defeated challenger Darlene Alston 597 votes to 318. Provisional ballots added five votes to Leak’s total and none to Alston’s.

In Laurinburg’s District 2, Mary Jo Adams ran unopposed for a second term, receiving 1,192 votes. Write-in candidates were put forward by 44 voters, but according to Scotland County Elections Director Dell Parker, no single write-in candidate received the five votes necessary to be distinguished.

The final results of Wagram’s elections were not affected by provisional ballots, with 56 votes securing another term for Mayor Milton Farmer. With 53 and 50 votes respectively, incumbent Bernice Gorham and newcomer Kendrick Thomas were elected to four-year terms as the two highest vote-getters. Paschal Stewart received 44 votes, and will serve a two-year term before his seat comes up for re-election.

Gibson voter totals remained the same with provisional ballots counted: 45 votes for incumbent mayor Ronnie Hudson and three write-ins for that office, and 40 votes each for incumbent commissioners Stephen Hudson and Randy Pearson.

East Laurinburg Mayor Wayne Caulder was returned to his seat by 18 votes to one write-in. Town commissioners David Cooper and Tyresa Haywood each received 17 votes and Kenny Morton received 16. All of East Laurinburg’s elected officials serve two-year terms.

Staff report

comments powered by Disqus