Municipal filing period ends today

LAURINBURG — Though every open seat in this November’s municipal elections — with one challenger each in Laurinburg’s and Wagram’s mayoral races — other hopefuls have until noon today to throw their hats in the ring.

The only new candidate to file on Thursday was Kenny Morton, the third to file for one of East Laurinburg’s three open commissioner seats. Incumbent commissioners Tyresa Haywood and David Cooper have filed, as has mayor Wayne Caulder. Incumbent Cleon Robinson, who has served two two-year terms, has yet to file.

East Laurinburg’s filing fees are $18 for mayoral candidates and $12 for commissioners.

If no one files for Laurinburg’s mayoral seat today, incumbent Tommy Parker will face former mayor Matthew Block. The city’s incumbent city council members, Curtis Leak representing District 1 and Mary Jo Adams representing District 2, have yet to see challengers file.

Laurinburg’s mayor and council members all serve four-year terms. The filing fee for all Laurinburg offices is $25.

Incumbent Wagram mayor Milton Farmer will face a challenge from town commissioner Jackie Laviner. So far, three town residents have filed for three seats available on the town commission: incumbents Paschal Stewart and Bernice Gorham and newcomer Kendrick Thomas.

Of the three candidates ultimately elected to Wagram’s board, the top two vote-getters will serve four-year terms and the third will serve a two-year term.

The filing fee for all Wagram offices is $5.

Gibson’s elections are set up to return a set of incumbents to the town’s board: Mayor Ronnie Hudson and town commissioners Stephen Hudson and Randy Pearson, none of whom have seen challengers file so far.

The filing fee for Gibson offices is $15.

Filing is open at the Scotland County Board of Elections through noon today. The office is located at the county annex at 231 East Cronly St. in Laurinburg.

comments powered by Disqus