Wagram’s mayor files for re-election

LAURINBURG — Wagram’s mayoral race is shaping up to be just that with the filing of incumbent Milton Farmer on Tuesday.

Farmer, who will face opposition from council member Jackie Laviner in November’s municipal elections, was first elected in 1995.

In the last 20 years, Farmer said he has overseen the fulfillment of the town’s basic infrastructure needs as well as more ambitious goals such as attracting businesses and the construction of a community recreation center.

“I basically operate by the principle of the three Ps: prayer, persistence, and patience, and that’s work,” he said.

“Wagram’s a small town and we don’t have a whole lot of money, so a lot of things that we’ve gotten we’ve gotten through grants. When the opportunity presents itself we’ve had some good engineers to write the grants for us and we’ve been successful doing that. I try to do what’s best for the community. It’s not about me, it’s about Wagram and its citizens.”

After 26 years in the National Guard, Farmer retired in 2011 and still works as a computer specialist at Ft. Bragg. He attends Nazareth Missionary Baptist Church.

Wagram commissioner Bernice Gorham, who has served for four terms, has also filed. The seat held by Paschal Stewart is also open.

Of the three candidates ultimately elected to Wagram’s board, the top two vote-getters will serve four-year terms and the third will serve a two-year term.

The filing fee for all Wagram offices is $5.

Also to file on Tuesday were incumbent East Laurinburg mayor Wayne Caulder and commissioner Tyresa Haywood. Incumbent commissioner David Cooper has also filed to retain his seat, but Cleon Robinson, whose seat is also open, has yet to file.

East Laurinburg’s filing fees are $18 for mayoral candidates and $12 for commissioners.

The mayoral seat in Laurinburg also has two bidders so far: incumbent Tommy Parker and former mayor Matthew Block. The city’s incumbent city council members, Curtis Leak representing District 1 and Mary Jo Adams representing District 2, have yet to see challengers file.

Laurinburg’s mayor and council members all serve four-year terms. The filing fee for all Laurinburg offices is $25.

Gibson town commissioners Stephen Hudson and Randy Pearson, along with Mayor Ronnie Hudson are seeking re-election. Theirs are the only seats up for bid in Gibson. The filing fee is $15.

Filing is open at the Scotland County Board of Elections through noon on Friday. The office is located at the county annex at 231 East Cronly St. in Laurinburg.

comments powered by Disqus