Hudson files for Gibson board

LAURINBURG — Gibson town commissioner Stephen Hudson announced his candidacy on Monday, bringing the total number of candidates in November’s municipal elections to 10.

Filing continues through noon Friday.

Hudson joins his father, Mayor Ronnie Hudson, who has held that seat for a decade, and Gibson commissioner Randy Pearson in seeking re-election. Theirs are the only seats up for bid in Gibson. The filing fee is $15.

Though all four seats on East Laurinburg’s municipal council are open, including the mayoral seat, only town commissioner David Cooper has filed.

East Laurinburg’s filing fees are $18 for mayoral candidates and $12 for commissioners.

In Wagram, town commissioner Jackie Laviner has filed for the mayoral seat currently held by Mayor Milton Farmer, who has yet to file. Wagram commissioner Bernice Gorham also filed this week in pursuit of a fifth term serving the town of 800.

Of the three candidates ultimately elected to Wagram’s board, the top two vote-getters will serve four-year terms and the third will serve a two-year term.

The filing fee for all Wagram offices is $5.

Former mayor and cardiologist Matthew Block, ousted by Laurinburg Mayor Tommy Parker in 2011, has filed for re-election.

Both incumbent City Council members whose seats are open, District 1 representative Curtis Leak and District 2 representative Mary Jo Adams, have filed in the hope of retaining their seats.

Laurinburg’s mayor and council members all serve four-year terms. The filing fee for all Laurinburg offices is $25.

Filing is open at the Scotland County Board of Elections from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. on weekdays. The office is located at the county annex at 231 East Cronly St. in Laurinburg.

comments powered by Disqus