2 more file for municipal elections

LAURINBURG — Gibson’s mayor and an East Laurinburg commissioner put their names in the ring for this year’s municipal elections, filing for re-election on the second day of the two-week filing period.

Ronnie Hudson will be seeking another two-year term as Gibson’s mayor, and David Cooper another term as an East Laurinburg commissioner, which is also two years.

Gibson town commissioners Stephen Hudson and Randy Pearson will have to file again for a chance to remain in their seats. Commissioner terms are four years. The filing fee for candidates to any of the three seats is $15.

East Laurinburg Mayor Wayne Caulder and town commissioners are all open for new candidates this year. The filing fees are $18 for mayoral candidates and $12 for commissioners.

Filing will remain open at the Scotland County Board of Elections from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday before closing at noon on July 17.

Laurinburg Mayor Tommy Parker is up for re-election, as is Wagram Mayor Milton Farmer. Laurinburg City Council member Mary Jo Adams, who represents District 2, and Curtis Leak, who represents District 1, filed for re-election on Monday.

Laurinburg’s mayor and council members all serve four-year terms. The filing fee for all Laurinburg offices is $25.

Farmer’s seat will be open for another two-year term. The town commissioners seats held by Bernice Gorham, Paschal Stewart, and Jackie Laviner will also be open to new contenders. Of the three candidates ultimately elected, the top two vote-getters will serve four-year terms and the third will serve a two-year term.

The filing fee for all Wagram offices is $5.

The Scotland County Board of Elections is located at the county annex at 231 East Cronly St. in Laurinburg.

comments powered by Disqus