ACT-SO members advance to nationals

by Maria D. Grandy - [email protected]

LAURINBURG- Out of 24 students who competed in the Scotland County’s NAACP ACT-SO competition last weekend, 12 received gold medals and will advance to the national competition in Cincinnati, Ohio in July.

Rena McNeil, youth advisor said, “it is always rewarding to see the students come together with a focused mind. I was taken away by the talent in this area but most importantly the caliber of the competition.”

The students showed off their talents in humanity, music and performing arts. Although McNeil said usually music is one of the strongest areas of competition, this year students were strong in original essays as well as dramatics.

“Even now when I see them, I can see the thrill in the judges’ eyes.”

During the Image Awards also held on Saturday several people in the community were recognized.

Robertha McLaughlin and Lucindy Briggs were chosen as Platinum Women. Fifth grade teacher at I. Ellis Johnson, Me’Lisa Myers-Butler was chosen as teacher of the year.

This year’s Police of the Year was Rodney Strickland. He has been with the Laurinburg Police department for 24 years.

Cynthia McDuffie was chosen as Principal of the Year. She is the principal at the Laurinburg Institute.

Dr. Jennifer Isenhour Rhue was recognized as Woman of the Year. State Rep. Garland Pierce, pastor of Bright Hopewell Missionary Baptist Church was Man of the Year. Johna Speller, Youth of the Year and Octavia McLean Student of the Year.

Maria D. Grandy can be reached at 910-506-3171

by Maria D. Grandy

[email protected]

comments powered by Disqus