Three Scotland commissioners set to run again

By Scott Witten - [email protected]

LAURINBURG — Three incumbent county commissioners filed for re-election this week, according to the Scotland County Board of Elections.

Those filing include Commissioner John Alford, who represents the Laurel Hill Township; Commissioner Bob Davis, who represents the Williamson Township; and Commissioner Clarence McPhatter, who represents the Stewartsville Township.

At-large Commissioner Whit Gibson, who has not yet filed, holds the fourth open seat on the county board.


Alford, who is seeking his fourth term on the board, said there is still much work that needs to done to help improve the county.

“Our jobless rate of 10.2 percent is unacceptable,” Alford said. “Affordable housing is a major problem for too many of our citizens. Reducing the tax rate continues to be a goal of mine. We also need to continue to work with the board of education to maintain the School Floor Funding at an affordable level.”

Alford added that the county has not yet fully recovered from the recession.

“During this period our employees lost benefits and wages and I want to see them restored,” he said.

Alford, a Maxton native,said he has been active in civic affairs since the 1970s.He is also a former member of the Laurinburg City Council. Alford is a retired executive with Abbott Laboratories.

Davis and McPhatter did not provide The Laurinburg Exchange with information on their candidacies.

Those wishing to run as unaffiliated candidates for the office of county commissioner must submit a petition to the elections board by June 2016 with signatures from four percent of the county’s registered voters. The filing fee for county commissioner seats is $63.

Alford, McPhatter and Davis all filed on Tuesday — the start of the filing period. No one filed on Wednesday.

Also filing on Tuesday were state Reps. Garland Pierce of Wagram and Ken Goodman of Rockingham; and current Register of Deeds Lindsay Page Pratt III.

Filing for the state’s March 15 primary ends at noon on Dec. 21.

By Scott Witten

[email protected]

Reach editor Scott Witten at 910-384-6949

Reach editor Scott Witten at 910-384-6949

comments powered by Disqus