Scotland voters to make candidate selections

Staff report

LAURINBURG — Polls will open in Laurinburg, East Laurinburg, Wagram, and Gibson this morning to give residents of all municipalities in Scotland County a voice in the selection of local leaders.

A total of 1,370 people voted during the one-stop voting period from Oct. 22-31.

Early voting peaked on Friday with 303 people casting ballots at the Scotland County Board of Elections. Across the street, campaigns for the two Laurinburg mayoral candidates — incumbent Tommy Parker and challenger Matthew Block — offered free chicken and fish plates to all comers.

Of the early voters, 716 came from Laurinburg’s District 2, where City Council member Mary Jo Adams runs unopposed. District 1, where veteran council member Curtis Leak is challenged by Darlene Alston, sent 607 residents to the polls during the early voting period.

Also during one-stop, 22 Wagram voters, eight East Laurinburg voters, and three Gibson voters cast ballots. The Scotland County Board of Elections also saw 14 Maxton residents.

In races outside of Laurinburg, ballots reflect little choice, as incumbent mayors Milton Farmer in Wagram, Ronnie Hudson in Gibson, and Wayne Caulder in East Laurinburg run unopposed.

On the Wagram town board, three candidates are running for three open seats: incumbents Paschal Stewart and Bernice Gorham and newcomer Kendrick Thomas. The top two vote-getters will serve four-year terms and the third will serve a two-year term.

For East Laurinburg commissioner, incumbents David Cooper and Tyresa Haywood along with newcomer Kenny Morton are all unopposed, as are Gibson town commissioners Stephen Hudson and Randy Pearson.

Polls open at 6:30 a.m. today and will remain open until 7:30 p.m.

Of the 10 county voting precincts, seven will be open. Laurinburg residents who usually vote at the Johns Fire Station will vote at the National Guard Armory, and those who usually vote at the Sneads Grove Community Building will vote at the county annex. Precinct 9, the Laurel Hill Community Building, will be closed.

Curbside voting will be available at each location for the disabled.

Elections Director Dell Parker predicted that election results will be available at around 8:30 p.m. at the Scotland County Courthouse.

Staff report

comments powered by Disqus